Thursday, March 10, 2011

Lotion Liquidation

Ok, so I know that lotion is not clothes, but since I have begun the challenge, I have been attempting clean out and streamline other areas of my life as well. One of the things I tackled was my bathroom.

First, I went through all of my medicine in my medicine box (which is literally an old Nike box, BTW) and threw anything that was expired or no longer needed. I didn't realize just how much junk I had been holding onto! With all the new space, I made a list of what medications I wanted to replace, and then I used some of my flex money from work to replenish with new fresh (and unexpired!) products.

Next I went through all of my hair care products. If they were really old and clogged, I tossed them. If they were newish but I knew I wouldn't use them, I gave them to friends. Then I started making an effort to use up everything before I buy more. Even with all the purging, I'm sure it will still be close to a year before I need new shampoo or conditioner. I will probably have to get hairspray before then. My goal is to be down to just what I actually use on a daily basis before the end of 2011.

Makeup was next. It was tough, but I tossed everything that has been open for more than a year that could have bacteria in it. That meant bye bye liquid concealer, old mascara, and old lip gloss. I kept all of my Bare Minerals (supposedly they aren't subject to the same bacteria concerns as other makeups?). Ok, so I didn't quite dump everything. I have a couple of eye shadow combos that I've had for at least 5 years. I'm getting closer to getting rid of them, but I just...can't...do...it yet! Any new samples that I knew I wouldn't use got sent to the donate box. The makeup collection is looking much more streamlined these days, but it still does have a way to go before I am completely happy with it.

Next I went through all of my travel sized items. I like to travel, so I've got several little bottles from hotels, and I also have travel sized products that I have purchased. I went through this collection and tossed anything that looked too old. I saved everything that I think I will still use while I travel. Most of the rest went into a clear container for my guest bathroom. With a dry erase marker, I wrote "Forget something? Help yourself!" on the container, so my guests can feel right at home even if they forget their shampoo/conditioner/hairspray/etc.

Last but not least, several months ago, I noticed that I was acruing half used bottles of several different kinds of lotion. Since then, I've used all of my favorite Aveeno Stress Relief, forced myself to finish some old Jergins, used the last of the lavendar farm stuff from my mother, finished up the philosophy birthday cake souffle, used the last of a tub of body shop body butter, tossed another body butter that no longer smelled quite right, brought a bottle of Victoria's Secret body lotion to keep at my fiance's house, and am now working to finish a sadly still very full bottle of (a different scent) of Victoria's Secret body lotion. Call me crazy, but I long for the day when I can open my closet and have only 1 bottle of lotion to use.

My bathroom is much more organized than it used to be. Wait until you hear what I did with my storeroom. :)

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

RIP Gap Jeans

After several years of hard wear, my favorite light blue trouser style limited addition Gap Jeans have finally gone on to a better place (under the bed in a bin with the rest of the fabric I have for the quilt my sister and I will one day finally have the time to sew together). My mother and fiance are not sad to see them go. I knew it was time to say goodbye when I crossed my legs and saw a quarter sized flash of flesh on my thigh where the fabric had literally worn right through. This has given me the [forced] opportunity to wear other pairs of pants that I own, in hopes of finding some new favorites. If all else fails, I've identified a contender that could become mine in July http://www.jbrandjeans.com/1277_Bette_in_Wonderama/pd/np/60/p/1788.html
Until next time :)

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

I caved!!!

It's true. After returning from a week in Arizona to cold and windy ND weather, I went back to Scheels last night, and returned home with the Lauren trench. I have to admit, I feel a little sheepish today, sporting my new coat around my coworkers who know I've sworn off clothing shopping for the year. However, I don't really feel all that bad, and here's why

  • It's freaking COLD outside. I've worn a couple of my old coats the last few days, and the wind goes right through and chills a person to the bone. Today I've been toasty :)
  • It was on sale, and they still had one in my size. It was 40% off the regular price. I could have waited until July 1 to look for fall/winter coats, but by then, the year's inventory may be gone, and the new stuff will all be full price.
  • I REALLY REALLY like it. I've been looking for a new winter coat pretty much since I moved back to NoDak from Florida in 2005. I haven't seen anything that's moved me to purchase until now

So yeah, that's my story about cheating big-time on my challenge. It's hard to feel too bad about it, especially when I know the rest of this winter I'm going to be warmer than I would have been :0)